Flowers and some cute beings I encountered in Bali..

Image

My Bali posts continue, and this time I have some pretty cute pictures to share of the abundant flora and fauna I saw in Bali, my favourite holiday destination. Bali is an important part of Indonesia. The religion followed here is Hindu, while the rest of the other 14,000 islands, that comprise Indonesia, follows Islam. Bali has also been made famous by Elizabeth Gilbert for her book ‘Eat Love Pray’, a book I’d read 5 years ago, and after which always yearned to go see Bali myself!

Image

This stunning flower (above) resembles a bright burning fire, and upon enquiry, I found out that this flower is called but ….Fire Flower!! :)

Image

Sadly, I do not know the name of this marvellous looking flower (above). Many times I thought it must be fake, but indeed it is so vibrantly real!

Below is a plant that is just waiting for the right moment to flower out and stun all the other plants around it!

Image

Below is a pic of my husband at one of the guesthouses that we’d stopped at. I must tell you that the greenery that you see in this pic is present not just at a manicured guesthouse but all over Bali, in almost the same immaculate way, without any hint of untidiness.

Image

Here’s a lovely painting of some flowers and birds of Bali. Paintings are EVERYWHERE in Bali. You find them in the lobby areas of all guesthouses and hotels big and small, in every room, in shops, you get the picture! ;) I did mention in an earlier post on the amazing art scene in Bali and that, in my opinion at least, every Balinese out of 10 seemed to be an artist.

Image

For an animal lover like myself, there is a certain species of animal, I am deathly scared of. I have never fainted in my life so far, but I think it’s highly likely that if a gecko ever were to touch me, I’d faint right away! The presence of geckos everywhere in Bali almost ruined my vacation and Yves was absolutely exasperated with me because I’d keep looking at the ceilings and walls so I could keep my distance from them. I must add that the noise I’ve heard the geckos emit in Bali, is something so unique, I have never heard such a noise in any other country where geckos are present! Here’s a billboard and the number of geckos on it fascinated me in a morbid sort of way..

Image

If you have ever heard of Luwak coffee, or civet coffee, you’d know it’s coffee beans that have been eaten and digested and passed out by the civet, an animal that’s furry and resembles a cat. This coffee is distinct of the Bali region and is also considered expensive. Guess who wanted to try out this coffee?? Why, Yves of course! :) The verdict? Yves says it doesn’t taste too different from the regular coffee, and I think he should know given the amount of coffee he drinks! Here’s a pic of the civet (black fur) with a cat friend next to it.

Image

While we were at a temple, we were informed by a local person that the temple contained a ‘prayer-pool’, a pool that contained fresh spring water. The Balinese enter into the pool (it’s a must for both men and women to wear long skirts, a sign of religious devotion) and pray next to the spouts from where the spring water gushes out. I was pleasantly surprised to see that there were fishes swimming around in the water next to the people! The water was very clean and it was so nice to observe that the Balinese value cleanliness and aesthetics highly. Here’s a snap of the praying scene and then a snap I managed to capture with some luck, of a fish in the water.

Image

Image

Last and not the least, we’d been to a place called Monkey Forest, a big monkey reserve in the middle of the little town Ubud. I am sorry to say that I’d encountered a bit of a scary incident here with the monkeys! I’d worn a long skirt and two monkeys arrived and were pulling hard at my skirt! They were viciously tugging at it and biting it with their teeth, and their teeth were so close to my skin! That spot happened to be an isolated place, except for a tourist couple who were frozen staring and wondering what would happen to me. Well, I got extremely lucky. Yves grabbed a big stick lying on the ground and brandished it at them, and luckily for him, the monkeys decided to retreat and I just flew away from that scene, heart beating in my mouth!

That incident did not stop Yves from fraternising with the monkeys. Below is a pic of Yves quite intent on teaching a young monkey how to uncork a water bottle and drink the water out of it.

Image

Image

Image

5 thoughts on “Flowers and some cute beings I encountered in Bali..

  1. hahaha…you seem to have a love-hate relation with animals! :D The gecko incident reminds me of our younger days, when my sister’s voice would turn suspiciously sweet, while calling me…and i knew that a lizard was within a mile’s radius of her…and i had to shoo it away! :)

  2. I want to stop by and thank you kindly for following my blog. I’ve enjoyed what I’ve read of yours, and I’m looking forward to reading more. Bali is also my favourite vacation destination in this world!! :D :D

  3. The pics you posted were of flowers of either the Butea or Erythrina, followed by that of a Heliconia and then the new uncurling fronds of a tree fern ( I am a botanist :-)).
    I haven’t been to Bali but the views appear very reminiscent of the state of Kerala in the south west coast of India where I live. The mossy green stone walls in particular! You will love the place.

    • Thank you for your feedback! I am so glad that you are a botanist, as my interest in my flowers has been cultivated recently and I am quite passionate about it! I will be visiting the Kokata Botanical Gardens soon and I hope to be enlightened more on the kind of flowers growing in this region. I would love to see more of flowers on your blog then! :)

Leave a Reply

