Stretches of Rice Fields, in Bali, Indonesia

Image

On our 16 day trip to Bali, Indonesia, Yves and I revelled in the lush and verdant rice fields. There is something to the sight of beautiful terraced rice fields, they look magical and serene, almost like being on another planet! Rice fields are the heart of Bali.

Image

Here are some photos that the rice fields in Bali allowed me to capture!

Image

Image

Unfortunately, from what I understood, the rice terraces are in threat from environmental degradation and development. The very people who have traveled to Bali and admired the rice fields have stayed back and built houses and hotels thus not only spoiling the scenery, but also taking away the limited agricultural land out of production forever. Also the fact that after about 1200 years of continuous cultivation, the rice fields are in jeopardy now. There is also a lot of stress on the farmers to sell their lands, and after they do so and the money is spent, they have to struggle hard to make ends meet as they have almost no skills.

Image

I found an interesting Balinese proverb that got translated into English :

” After all the tress have been cut,

After all the rivers poisoned,

After all the fish have been caught,

It is then that money cannot be eaten.”

Here is the last pic, of Chico, a dog that belonged to someone in our hotel. Chico is such a lovable being, he loved playing with me and Yves. Sometimes, late at night, when we returned to the hotel on our scooter, we would be surprised to see Chico waiting for us at the corner of the rice fields that was the entrance to our hotel. Waiting to jump over us with his front paws pawing at our trousers with his tongue hanging out!

Image

Image

2 thoughts on “Stretches of Rice Fields, in Bali, Indonesia

  1. Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for
    this website? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    • Hello, thanks for stopping by my blog! So far I’ve had no problems with hackers on my WordPress site, and I do hope I never will, but to answer your question, I use only wordpress as my blog platform and none other!

Leave a Reply

