Some pretty Balinese doors

Image

On my vacations to Bali, Indonesia last month, I was amazed to see intricate and beautiful woodworks. The Balinese carve on any piece of wood lying around, and they do some mind boggling stuff with it. I think the topmost profession in Bali, after rice farming, would be painting and wood carving. There is a profusion of wood carvers in Bali. I did find out that most of the carvings are done on hibiscus wood, considered a soft wood so carvings can be made intrictaely and in a short period of time.

Here I share with you some wonderful carvings I came across in Bali on doors. Almost every door will have some sort of carving on it. Even our little inexpensive hotel door had some gorgeous carvings on it. The picture of the door below has gold fillings on it. I had the ooportunity to see some craftsmen adding the gold fillings, it’s a painstakingly slow process with a lot of concentration required.

Image

Image

Image

Below is our hotel door leading out to the balcony, check out the lovely carvings!!

IMG_9167

By the way, I just remembered, once my husband opened the entrance room door and a snake fell in on the floor! We realised later that the snake had been supported on the door thanks to the carvings! The snake was a tiny one and we immediately called the boys from the reception to help get the snake out. We never could find out if it was poisonous or not! Here’s a pic of the snake, and sorry for the deviation of topic, but I just want to quickly show you the snake!

Image

Here are some other wood carvings apart from doors. The famous Balinese masks that are worn by dancers during religious dances in temples, are made of the wood of the hisbiscus tree.

Image

Image

Image

And last but not the least, I call the work below ‘The Tree of Monsters’, almost sounds like a book-title! πŸ™‚

Image

And here I finish this post with a little bit of wood carving that I’d attempted myself! I found a course of 3 hours where I got to learn a little bit of wood carving. I reaised the secret really lay in knowing how to use your tools. If you want to know more about my class, you will have to go to my previous post! Thanks for enjoying!

Image

9 thoughts on “Some pretty Balinese doors

  1. Namaste…thank you for visiting and following my blog πŸ™‚ Your blog looks fabbo and I love your photos…I look forward to following you ~ Lakshmi x

  2. Thank you so much culturegeekfashionoid! Really enjoyed this post! It is amazing what skilled hands and patience can produce. Thanks again for this wonderful share.

    About the snake i’m no expert but as far I can see its not a Cobra, Krait, Coral or Pit Viper. So my guess you’re safe πŸ˜‰

  3. I have always loved that kind of woodwork even though I have never visited the area. I stay out of very warm climates because snakes cause flight. My feet don’t touch ground for miles. I’ll check out more of your site. Thanks for stopping by mine.

    • Thank you for your lovely comment and looking through my blog! Yes, I too am a little scared of snakes or any reptile for that matter! My husband asks me constantly to do something about it! πŸ™‚

      • Well, St. Pats day is all about ridding Ireland of the snakes. Maybe we could do something like that? πŸ™‚ If I had to live close to snakes again I might have to go in for hypnosis. Living in Georgia and Taiwan gave me a healthy respect for creatures but didn’t help me like them. There was a lot of that kind of artwork in Taiwan as well. I’ll stop by again.

Leave a Reply

