What I ate in Bali

Image

I have been looking forward to putting up this post on Balinese cuisine, and I am glad I got the chance to finally compile all my food photos of my trip to Bali, Indonesia last month! 🙂 Sadly, I had not included Indonesian cooking class to my trip, I guess I would have loved to do that since there was a profusion of cooking courses everywhere in the little town of Ubud where we stayed. Indonesian cooking is rich, and almost similar to Indian food as they cook using a long list of ingredients and quite spicy too!

The photo that I posted above is such a delicious dish called ‘Bebek Bengil’. It is duck meat that’s been steamed first and then fried. Accompanying it are an assortment of various spices which were really spicy by the way!! I was crying and eating at the same time, so happy was I to finish the last bit of this dish! By the way, the name of restaurant also happens to be of the same name, Bebek Bengil. The menu is limited but this particular menu item is extremely fast selling. The restaurant is quite big in size, and seats approximately 200 people. I saw a busload of Chinese tourists who arrived at this restaurant for their dinner and I saw most of them ordering what else but Bebek Bengil. Here’s a snap of the restaurant from the outside:

Image

When we passed by a duck pen the following day, I sadly wondered if they were destined for the Bebek Bengil restaurant!! 😦

Image

Here’s a very local breakfast item (yes breakfast!!) that I picked up for myself at a produce market in Ubud. By the way, this particular market is a wonderful sight to behold with so many colours and all the bustling activities of the Balinese women! Here’s the breakfast item I picked up from this gentle old lady, and yes I did finish it entirely! Hubby refused to even have a bite, he was holding his belly while I ate!

Image

All the unlidded items that is seen in this pic, is all heaped onto rice and eaten that way. Let’s just say after that breakfast I wasn’t hungry for lunch!

Here’s a dish that is very Indonesian… It’s called Nasi Campur and I loved it because of it’s typical Balinese elements. Rice with chicken satay (meat on a skewer) and some steamed leafy vegetables. Below are Nasi Campurs that I tried at a restaurant, and then at a street side foodstall..

Image

Image

Image

Image

A Balinese delicacy is the ‘Babi Guling’ or roasted pig. I’d read about it before my Bali trip and had been looking forward to having it, but an experience of being stuck in traffic behind an open van that carried the pigs to the slaughterhouse for a few minutes changed my opinion of wanting to have this dish! I just felt so sorry for the pigs!!

Image

The item below may not look very appetising but I assure you, it was actually the tastiest fish dish I ever had!! It’s grilled fish with the Indonesian spices on it. I don’t remember the local name of the fish I was told, but I would guess it’s Tilapia since it’s a fresh water fish. Husband ordered for himself this dish when we were at a heavenly place called Kintamani and our hotel overlooked the active volcano along with the lake in front of it:

Image

Image

Here’s another fish dish that I’d liked very much, not a typical local cuisine, but really good nevertheless. The best thing about dining out in Bali is that food is very affordable. You can have a really lovely meal of various courses along with drinks and it’s cheap!

Image

Here’s the kind of food that Yves was having most of the time. He stuck to tastes that he was more familiar with. This particular dish was pretty awesome too. We had it at a resto called ‘Sails’ which is located in a place called Amed known for it’s great norkelling and diving sites. I had an exceptional snorkelling experience as I’d gotten the chance to view an old sunken Japanese ship on the ocean depths and covered with corals! The dish Yves ordered for is chicken prepared with camembert cheese cranberries heaped on it and some cream and vegetables on the side.

Image

As much as I liked his dish, I preferred my Indonesian pork curry and rice:

Image

When we came across a McDonald on this little island, we were delighted and took a U-turn on our scooter and headed straight for it. We wanted to see the local additions, and yes there were! There was a side called ‘Bubur Ayam’ which was liquidy rice with some fried stuff sprinkled on it. It was lovely!

Image

Here are some of the local drinks, a drink made of custard apple (Sirsak), a tamarind juice and the third isn’t a drink it’s a cup of the local flavoured instant noodles!

Image

Last and not the least, are the desserts!! Here is Klepon, a traditional Indonesian dessert that’s made of steamed balls of rice flour with liquid brown sugar inside of it. I loved it!! Below it is another dessert that is fried banana dumplings with vanilla ice cream. That was delicious too and I loved how they made it shaped as a frangipani flower, one of the national flowers of Bali.

Image

Image

4 thoughts on “What I ate in Bali

  1. Bubur Ayam is chicken porridge and it had been garnished with fried onions & spring onions. 🙂 The fried bananas (pisang goreng) look too good!

Leave a Reply

