What I saw around Dubai – Stray kitties saying ‘Hello! I’m hungry!’

Image

I love cats! But, when I observe the fast-growing numbers of stray cats around the United Arab Emirates, I feel a bit alarmed because I doubt even the organisations that rescue strays can cope with the sheer numbers of cats!

Today, it was announced, by Dubai Municipality, that a 200 Dirham (or 54USD) will be fined on the person caught feeding a stray cat. Many residents protested against this, citing animal cruelty and requesting instead for neutering of the cats, which is of course a more humane thing to do.

Poor kitties! As much as I love them, I know actions will need to be taken soon about the problem, as they continually scavenge the bins, and are probably with diseases! I am afraid sometimes to even touch them just being aware of this!

Image

 

4 thoughts on “What I saw around Dubai – Stray kitties saying ‘Hello! I’m hungry!’

Leave a Reply

