What can I do with my almost-drying-up paints in Kolkata?

Image

I decided to finally use my almost-dried paints to spruce up my balcony wall. Having moved into my new appartment in Kolkata, and having not really the time to concentrate on prettying up the place, the blank white washed walls were almost seeming a bit monotonous and depressing. So I decided to give the last lease of life to my acrylic paints!

First, I had to get the walls cleaned up. There is a lot of dust in Kolkata and each day the floors of the appartment have to be cleaned twice, once morning and then in the evening. The balcony walls were coated with white paint and a thick coating of dust on it along with cobwebs when we’d first moved in. I decided to scrub and clean every inch of the wall, and I was quite pleased with my efforts when the wall was gleaming white and shiny! πŸ™‚

I created the templates first, by sketching butterfly figures on paper and tracing their outlines on the walls.

Image

Image

Image

The two helps I have, Shumi and Wangden, were looking at me curiously while I painted my butterflies. I wasn’t sure if they had ever vented their arty sides before, so I gladly gave them my brush and they got so involved in painting the butterflies that now this project is officially a joint venture between the three of us. In fact Shumi told me that she found painting the butterflies addictive. She couldn’t stop at just one but had to keep going. Wangden finished where Shumi left off to go finish her cooking.

Image

Image

The plant standing tall in between the butterflies is a lovely flowering plant, the flowers are a deep shade of pink, and emit a strong wonderful scent. Unfortunately, the flowers are still tiny buds (I bought them 2 days ago!) so i have no photos, and as much as I tried to find their name in English, I couldn’t! So I have just to share with you the name I know in Bengali : Kobiraaj. I bought some more heavenly perfumed flowers, but they will have to be a story for another post! πŸ™‚

Here’s a random mango tree I found on the road (and there are plenty of such trees in the city!). Check out the amazing number of mangoes growing on them!

Image

Β 

Β 

7 thoughts on “What can I do with my almost-drying-up paints in Kolkata?

  1. Thanks Know-All!! I had the idea to paint the wall more to spruce it up than a serious effort of art work. I was painting my butterflies while many curious eyes were peeping at me from the other appartments, and it was so much fun, my neighbours watching us 3 people attentively having a go at the butterflies like we had all the time in the world!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

