My Herbs, and a Jittery Gardener

ImageI got myself many pots of herbs and aromatic plants, and unlike previous times, decided that I’m going to roll up my sleeves, and sit in front of the computer and learn all there is to learn about how to keep delicate plants alive. I’ve probably let out that I’m a lousy gardener.

I have burnt holes in my pocket persistently and stubbornly buying plants and seeing them wither, become thorny and hard, and looking soon a sorry sight, as soon as I pot them and put them out on my windows. Well, this time, I decided to learn and take notes! So, I bought : tarragon, thyme, rosemary, laurel, basil, chives and rosemary. I know from past experience that basil is tricky to grow, and thyme is relatively easy. I won’t get to parsley. I have had to make a firm mental note never to buy them again. It’s easier for me to get them off the stores and keep them in a glass of water. They seem to have no difficulty lasting long that way.

I love growing basil though! They look beautiful with their full leaves and they emit such a lovely smell! It’s a joy to see them flourish. A while ago, in one of my gardening experiments, I had a small forest of basil growing on my window. I was just very lucky, and now I wish I had made use of the oportunity to make plenty of pesto, because inexplicably the next week they just died out. So far I am loving the way my basil looks!

Image

This will be my first time with the laurel plant, tarragon and rosemary. Somehow I am a bit worried about the laurel plant. Apparently they require a lot of sun, water and fertiliser in the form of fish emulsion. To be on the safe side, I’ve places all my aromatic plants on the window ledge that receives the maximum sun. So far, it’s been a week already, and I am happy to report that all plants seem to be doing well and thriving! I am already reaping the advantages of having aromatics by using them in my cooking, and such a heavenly difference they make to any dish! I made small laminated notes and stuck them to the appropriate pots so I can be reminded of any particularities.

Image

Image

ImageHere’s a last look of my herbs taken from the outside of the building. What a proud mama I’m turning out to be! I am beginning to understand how gardeners can be so caught up with their plants. I am starting to experience the anxiety, nervousness and the happiness to have healthy and lovely flowers and plants. Here’s a French saying for any one who’s looking to read/learn some French : Ne vous endormez pas sur vos lauriers. It literally means ‘Do not sleep over your laurels’ or otherwise, do not take things for granted, but continue working hard.

Image

Apart from herbs, I got myself many geraniums (and I love them, they’ve never failed me), some campanula and 3 small pots of cactus. After endless youtube videos on growing and maintaining plants, I decided to also try growing some garlic pods. Even though I know this isn’t the right season (fall is)! The stubborn part of me wants to go ahead with it and keep my fingers crossed that my garlic pods will grow roots and shoots. Here are more proud mama shots of my plants, do enjoy them!

Image

Image

Image

7 thoughts on “My Herbs, and a Jittery Gardener

  1. Congratulations on the fabulous job till now!!! 🙂 Btw, your perseverance reminds of something I had read long back. “Gardening needs a lot of water, most of it in the form of perspiration!” 🙂 Way to go, Snowflakegurl!!! 😀

    • I pruned my basil just yesterday and made pesto sauce out of it. I got so happy about it, I plan to plant more basil in pots! You are right, fresh basil has such a heavenly scent!

Leave a Reply

