My artwork on bathroom tubes

ImageSomehow, my husband and I weren’t too joyful in having plain white functional tubes running up in the bathroom, in full view. My husband proposed the idea of having cabinets over them to hide them, and I was quite OK with the idea.

The cabinets somehow never came and I was itching to take out my paintbrushes and make some kind of art over them. I was a bit nervous when I first started out, because I would be using up a lot of my time for them, and I wanted the end result to look good. Plus it’s been a while I took out my paintbrushes!

The height of the bathroom is 3 meters and the tubes run almost that length. However, my artwork is confined to only one meter, that is, the part of the tubes seen from the first ledge upwards. Here is a series of photographs so you can see and perhaps enjoy the transition, from the boring white tubes to something I can look at every morning and go hmmm… πŸ™‚

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageΒ Β  Β By the way, I got inspiration for the house above the orange tree from this particular house in my neighborhood.

Image

ImageImageImageΒ Β  I must say I did not start this project knowing exactly that I wanted to draw. If I did, then the enormity of the project would have made me keep putting it off. I completed this painting in about a month. That long because it also included a few days of me going out of the country. I tackled the ideas one at a time. I knew from the start that I wanted the thinner tubes to be surrounded by vines. I had no idea what to do for the bigger tube. Something fancy, yet homely.

I wanted a little child to be drawn, and I wanted it to be a girl. I had to think about her posture, whether she should face me, what dress she should wear etc. The orange tree was done easily. But it was challenging for me to vision what could be above the orange tree. Husband suggested I continue the orange tree all the way up just like the vines. The idea couldn’t hold true with me because of course orange trees aren’t like vines, they are just big bushy compact things. Would I draw fields and then the sky above and then maybe an aeroplane flying? I got my inspiration while walking around my neighborhood and seeing this lovely house with French windows and slated tile roof and that little attic window. The idea of the weather vane came from the church in our neighborhood.

Here’s a pic of my good friend’s daughters who I couldn’t resist including in the post because I felt their charm of being just little girls fit quite well with my painting.

ImageImage

17 thoughts on “My artwork on bathroom tubes

  1. very very beautiful tnx.ur artwork is improving day by day.keep on practising and do more paintings, may be landscapes? mom

  2. Wow!!! Absolutely mind-blowing stuff Culture Geek!!! You really are one super-talented person!! And of course, now the cat is there inside your bathroom too!!!! πŸ˜€ And the girl looks suspiciously like Alice!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • Lol!! Thanks Know- All for your lovely commenst!! You know, I just wish my tags would have worked on this post! I couldn’t find my post in Reader using the tags, how sad! Anyway..! πŸ™‚

  3. would you believe me if i tell you that this is one of my favorite things I have seen in a long, long time? i cannot describe how beautiful i found this. :’) and i love, love, love the vintagey feel of the girl painting πŸ˜€

  4. You should offer to custom paint a larger diameter tube, cut open (or in half) so that it can be fit over the real tubes by the purchaser! You could do them in smaller sections.

    • That’s a very good idea actually, and I never thought of it before!! I was wondering if I could go anywhere with this art, so your idea gives me something to chew on!! Thanks! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

