L’Aiguille en fête – An international exhibition of textiles in Paris

Image

 

I am happy to be writing this post while the exhibition is still on in Paris, so for those who can make it and are interested in textiles or fiber art, please do visit it, as it is quite worth the experience! The exhibition runs until 9th February, at the Parc des expositions, in Porte de Versailles. I was at this exhibition last evening, I understand this event takes place every year, so I was glad that being my first visit there last evening, I would have an idea of what to expect the next time around. But yes, my first time was more than a pleasant surprise. 

The exhibition is about creativity to do with fabrics, trimmings, the latest models in sewing machines, sculpture textiles, textile designs, and appliances related to fabric crafts. It boasts of about 250 stalls of sellers from many different countries. There are also plenty of ‘ateliers’ or workshops with a variety of craft activities to choose from. 

The exhibition space is huge, of about 1500 meter square. I was so tempted to stop by every stall, every piece of work screamed for attention, and I could see that a lot many hours had been spent on creating so many works of art. Here’s a few pictures to feast your eyes on :

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

There was even a knitting championship :

Image

Image

 

Amongst the things that attracted me a lot were the kits to make felt toys. I noticed that the Italian stalls were mostly the ones where the felt kits were terribly attractive. The faces of the toys seemed to have almost a soft laidback character. It reminded me a bit of my trip to Florence where I’d seen a lot of Italian artwork on wooden puppets. I thought it was exotic and I got myself a beautiful toy kit of 35 euros, that had along with the fabric several other trimmings like ribbons, wooden hearts, button etc. I can’t wait to get started on this toy soon!

8 thoughts on “L’Aiguille en fête – An international exhibition of textiles in Paris

    • Yes, Know-All, if you were at this exhibition, you’d be mesmerised at the fantastic imagination of the artists there! Some of them have titles like MOF – Meillieur Ouvrier de France, a very high title for craftsmanship, here in France.

    • Yes, Srishty, it is also a good example of fiber art. The work in question depicts a certain Italian coastal city ( I don’t remember now!) and the entire work is made using cloth of various fibers.

  1. oohh..this is the best exhibition to be at..You must have loads of fun going around.. and thank you for sharing all the great things with us. 😀 Love all the pictures you’ve taken. Thank you

      • heehee.. every time I will receive some emails from them.. but I have not been lucky enough to attend.. maybe one of these days.. i got to make it there.. 😀

Leave a Reply

