My first attempt at Silk Ribbon Embroidery

Image

My very first attempt at silk ribbon embroidery and though I can see many mistakes, I am overall pleased with the result! 🙂 On hindsight, I wish now I hadn’t crowded it with so many flowers and French knots. I wish also that I hadn’t painted the green and orange bits. I mostly wish that the starter’s kit that I had bought to practise this embroidery on had something a little more special than just plain white sewing cloth.

I started my embroidery in Dubai at Craftsland which is the only place in Dubai selling silk ribbons. I took a 3 day course in learning how to get started with it. I had a lovely instructor called Iman who was very helpful and gave me as many tips possible. Being busy with everyday life and all that, this project took me over 2 months to complete. I still have to have it framed now!

Image

 

16 thoughts on “My first attempt at Silk Ribbon Embroidery

  1. good that you wished all those things post embroidery…because it looks absolutely awesome 🙂 but yes, you need to remove that SGL..unless it is part of the design! 😛

  2. Thank you for looking at my site…..your “first attempt” is beautiful. I haven’t tried silk ribbon flowers yet. I have also painted on plain backgrounds, and found that dampening the cloth first with water helped soften the look of the paint, tinting the cloth and keeping in softer.

    • Thanks for your comment! Yes, I still have a lot to learn about painting and embroidery, and at the moment I am curious to learn more about fabric painting!! I will look into your blog to give me some tips! 🙂

  3. I think it’s a gorgeous piece of work. And I like the painted parts in the background, Makes the beautiful flowers stand out even more and gives the background a dreamy, soft look. Not too many flowers at all. Love, love, love it! 🙂

  4. Hi,
    Can you share the instruction of this one, I mean how to do it? I want to make something similar, but want the instruction.

    Saswati

    • Hi Saswati! Thanks for your interest in my embroidery! It’s not easy to share instructions since the designs I created were taken from various different sources.There are many and very helpful videos on youtube, you should just look at them! Try finding info on Di Van Niekerk, she is very good in this form of embroidery, and she also sells books.

Leave a comment